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1-8-6 EXCEPTION & PENALTY: A high school softball coach will be able to use electronic devices in the
dugout for one-way communication to the catcher while the team is on defense beginning in 2025. This
change is the result of analysis of current data, state association experimentation and a positive response
from the membership. The committee has made these changes to support the use of emerging technology
within the sport of softball. Being a permissive rule, the use of this one-way electronic communication will
allow those who choose to embrace the technology an additional option to communicate with the catcher
while on defense. It will also maintain the ability for those who prefer a more traditional approach to
communicate using signals or a playbook/playcard to continue that approach. Accommodating one-way
communication to the catcher brought new language to two different sections of the NFHS Softball Rules
Book, starting with Rule 1-8-6. Devices such as earpieces, electronic bands and smartwatches are now
permitted as an EXCEPTION within the rule provided the player does not utilize said device to return
correspondence to the coaching staff. Since both rules were updated for this change, the penalty from Rule
3-6-11 was added to Rule 1-8-6 as well, with violators subject to ejection unless the offense is ruled to be of
a minor nature. This penalty has been in place for Rule 3-6-11 allowing the umpire to issue a warning if the

offense is minor and then eject if the offense is repeated.

3-6-11: This penalty has been in place for Rule 3-6-11 allowing the umpire to issue a warning if the offense
is minor and then eject if the offense is repeated. In addition to permitting the one-way communication
devices, the updated version of Rule 3-6-11 regarding Bench and Field Conduct specifies that coaches are
prohibited from using the device to communicate with any other team member while on defense or any

team member while on offense and the coach cannot use the device outside the dugout/bench area.

9-3-2b: For the purpose of official scorekeeping, if a baserunner is declared out for being hit by a fair batted
ball the batter-runner is credited with a fielder’s choice in the scorebook. A runner being hit with a batted
ball is a form of interference and is covered in Rule 8-6-11 which specifies that the runner is out and it also
lists that the batter-runner is credited with a fielder's choice. Previously, this play was scored as a base hit
for the batter.



